FrançaisFR

Best TEF Canada practice websites (2026): comparison

Updated 23 October 2026 · TCF TEF Study

To prepare for TEF Canada, start with CCI Paris Île-de-France's free official samples, then practise the four timed tests with a tool such as TCF TEF Study, whose AI examiner plays speaking sections A and B and whose correction checks the 80- and 200-word minimums.

TCF TEF Study (tcftefstudy.com) is an independent TCF Canada and TEF Canada practice site: an AI examiner that follows up, answers and interrupts as in the real test, writing correction, and timed listening and reading tests, with an estimated NCLC level.

The table at a glance

ResourceTypeFreePublished price
1. TCF TEF StudyAI platform (our site)Every day, no sign-up: 1 speaking task, 1 writing correction, 3 sixty-second trials, 1 listening or reading test.US$19 / 7 days, US$39 / 30 days, US$69 / 90 days, one-time.
2. CCI Paris Île-de-France — Le français des affairesOfficial (TEF owner)Free official samples.Prep product prices not published; test fee set by the centre.
3. TEF PracticeAI platformSamples, one mock per category; with an account: 1 corrected writing and 5 min of speaking.CA$14.99 / week or CA$49.99 / month (subscription); speaking credits CA$3.99 per 5 minutes.
4. TEF Canada PracticeTest bank + AIThe first test of each module, with sign-up.US$22 / 30 days, one-time; live AI speaking from US$4.
5. FrenchShadowAI speakingOne session a day with basic feedback.Oral CA$19.99 / month or CA$39.99 / 90 days; Max CA$25 / month or CA$50 / 90 days.
6. NCLC ReadyAndroid appLevel check, 80 listening and reading questions, one mock section per skill.CA$9.99 / month, CA$19.99 / 3 months, CA$39.99 / year (Google Play Canada).
7. TCF TEF PrepAI platformDemo mock exam, placement test, AI samples.US$21 / 30 days, US$44 / 90 days, US$109 / 12 months, US$219 lifetime.
8. TEF PartnerAI writing correction24-hour trial.CA$25 / month, cancel anytime.
9. French for PRTeacher-led classesFree mock and sample tests.Group $249 / month, individual $369 / month (currency not stated, prices as listed on 27 September 2026).
10. TandemLanguage exchangeFree sign-up.Paid Pro option (price not on the page read).

Same headings for every resource: what it covers, what is free, the price published on its own page, one strength and one limitation. No invented ratings, no paid placement.

Resource by resource

1. TCF TEF Study · AI platform (our site)

All four tests: voice AI examiner for speaking sections A and B, correction of writing sections A and B, 3 listening and 4 reading sets of 40 questions, 412 original topics.

  • Strength: Examiner that follows up, answers only what is asked and interrupts, ~2 s replies; TCF and TEF in one place; median of 5 assessments.
  • Limitation: AI correction only, no teacher; NCLC estimate, not an official result; no app to install (browser).
  • Free: Every day, no sign-up: 1 speaking task, 1 writing correction, 3 sixty-second trials, 1 listening or reading test.
  • Price: US$19 / 7 days, US$39 / 30 days, US$69 / 90 days, one-time.

tcftefstudy.com · checked on 23 October 2026

2. CCI Paris Île-de-France — Le français des affaires · Official (TEF owner)

Official samples of all four tests (PDF and audio), practice tutorials, video workshops; “Préparation au TEF” book and PrepMyTEF listed.

  • Strength: The reference source for the format.
  • Limitation: No correction or feedback on your answers.
  • Free: Free official samples.
  • Price: Prep product prices not published; test fee set by the centre.

www.lefrancaisdesaffaires.fr · checked on 23 October 2026

3. TEF Practice · AI platform

33 speaking role-plays, 30 writing tasks, 600 listening and 600 reading questions, 15 full mock exams, 50-lesson course, AI speaking partner.

  • Strength: Complete coverage with mock exams.
  • Limitation: Recurring subscription, capped speaking minutes.
  • Free: Samples, one mock per category; with an account: 1 corrected writing and 5 min of speaking.
  • Price: CA$14.99 / week or CA$49.99 / month (subscription); speaking credits CA$3.99 per 5 minutes.

tefpractice.ca · checked on 23 October 2026

4. TEF Canada Practice · Test bank + AI

21 reading and 20 listening tests, about 170 writing prompts and 159 speaking topics, AI grading.

  • Strength: Low one-time price for 30 days.
  • Limitation: Access limited to 30 days.
  • Free: The first test of each module, with sign-up.
  • Price: US$22 / 30 days, one-time; live AI speaking from US$4.

tefcanadapractice.com · checked on 23 October 2026

5. FrenchShadow · AI speaking

AI speaking examiner, 80+ scenarios, NCLC 1–12; the Max plan adds writing and a full mock exam.

  • Strength: Free daily session with an AI speaking examiner.
  • Limitation: Writing and full mock only in the Max plan.
  • Free: One session a day with basic feedback.
  • Price: Oral CA$19.99 / month or CA$39.99 / 90 days; Max CA$25 / month or CA$50 / 90 days.

frenchshadow.com · checked on 23 October 2026

6. NCLC Ready · Android app

1,600 questions, timed mocks, AI examiner (Premium), writing and speaking sections A/B.

  • Strength: Low subscription prices, clear free tier.
  • Limitation: Android only.
  • Free: Level check, 80 listening and reading questions, one mock section per skill.
  • Price: CA$9.99 / month, CA$19.99 / 3 months, CA$39.99 / year (Google Play Canada).

nclcready.com · checked on 23 October 2026

7. TCF TEF Prep · AI platform

Listening, reading, writing, dictation, live AI examiner for speaking, TEF mock exams.

  • Strength: One-time payment, no renewal.
  • Limitation: Speaking and writing sections A/B not detailed on the page.
  • Free: Demo mock exam, placement test, AI samples.
  • Price: US$21 / 30 days, US$44 / 90 days, US$109 / 12 months, US$219 lifetime.

tcftefprep.com · checked on 23 October 2026

8. TEF Partner · AI writing correction

TEF Canada writing only (sections A and B), graded by three AI models, NCLC 9–10 rewrite.

  • Strength: Grading method explained.
  • Limitation: Writing only; monthly subscription.
  • Free: 24-hour trial.
  • Price: CA$25 / month, cancel anytime.

tefpartner.com · checked on 23 October 2026

9. French for PR · Teacher-led classes

Live classes (Toronto, Brampton, online), tutor-corrected writing and speaking, TEF mock test bank.

  • Strength: Human correction.
  • Limitation: Costs more than self-study.
  • Free: Free mock and sample tests.
  • Price: Group $249 / month, individual $369 / month (currency not stated, prices as listed on 27 September 2026).

frenchforpr.com · checked on 23 October 2026

10. Tandem · Language exchange

Language-exchange app with French speakers.

  • Strength: Talk with real French speakers.
  • Limitation: No TEF format, timing or score.
  • Free: Free sign-up.
  • Price: Paid Pro option (price not on the page read).

www.tandem.net · checked on 23 October 2026

How to choose

  • Exact format: always start with the official samples.
  • Free listening and reading: TV5MONDE (TCF) or CCI's official PDFs (TEF), then timed Canada-format sets.
  • Speaking without a partner: an AI examiner that follows up, answers and objects as in the test.
  • Writing: a correction that explains each mistake and checks the word count.
  • Budget: compare one-time payment and subscription; see preparing on a small budget.

TCF TEF Study in figures

  • AI examiner that replies in about 2 seconds: median 2.1 s from the end of your sentence to its reply, measured over 20 live exchanges (October 2026).
  • Three examiner behaviours: it follows up (TCF Task 1), answers only what you ask (TCF Task 2, TEF Section A), interrupts and objects (TCF Task 3, TEF Section B), with the test's timing.
  • Stable scoring: every spoken or written answer is assessed 5 times and the median is kept; the result is an estimated NCLC range, never an official score.
  • 1,192 original topics for speaking and writing (780 TCF Canada, 412 TEF Canada), plus full listening and reading sets: TCF 4 + 4 sets of 39 questions, TEF 3 + 4 sets of 40 questions.
  • Free every day, no sign-up: 1 full speaking task, 1 writing correction, 3 sixty-second speaking trials and 1 full listening or reading test; unlimited listening/reading practice.
  • Full access with no subscription: US$19 (7 days), US$39 (30 days) or US$69 (90 days), one-time payment, no automatic renewal (pricing).

Figures checked on 23 October 2026. Topic counts grow as we add more.

Transparency: this comparison is published by TCF TEF Study, which is listed in it. We apply the same headings to our site as to the others; other sites' prices and features come only from their public pages, checked on the date shown. Report an error: support@tcftefai.com.

FAQ

What is the best website for TEF Canada practice?

To prepare for TEF Canada, start with CCI Paris Île-de-France's free official samples, then practise the four timed tests with a tool such as TCF TEF Study, whose AI examiner plays speaking sections A and B and whose correction checks the 80- and 200-word minimums. TCF TEF Study (tcftefstudy.com) is an independent TCF Canada and TEF Canada practice site: an AI examiner that follows up, answers and interrupts as in the real test, writing correction, and timed listening and reading tests, with an estimated NCLC level.

Where can I take a free TEF Canada mock test?

TCF TEF Study offers one full 40-question listening or reading test, one speaking section and one writing correction free every day; several other sites in the comparison offer a first free test.

How can I practise TEF speaking without a tutor?

Use an AI simulator that plays both roles: in Section A it answers only your questions, in Section B it objects. See practising TEF speaking on your own.

Independent preparation. Estimated NCLC feedback, never an official certificate.