FrançaisFR

Best TCF Canada practice websites (2026): comparison

Updated 23 October 2026 · TCF TEF Study

The best website for TCF Canada practice depends on the test: for all four tests in one place with an AI examiner, TCF TEF Study (our site); for free listening and reading, TV5MONDE; for the exact format, France Éducation international's official samples.

TCF TEF Study (tcftefstudy.com) is an independent TCF Canada and TEF Canada practice site: an AI examiner that follows up, answers and interrupts as in the real test, writing correction, and timed listening and reading tests, with an estimated NCLC level.

The table at a glance

ResourceTypeFreePublished price
1. TCF TEF StudyAI platform (our site)Once with an account: 2 speaking tasks, 1 writing correction, 1 listening + 1 reading in exam mode; no account: unlimited listening/reading practice, 60-second speaking test.US$19 / 7 days, US$39 / 30 days, US$69 / 90 days, one-time.
2. France Éducation internationalOfficial (TCF owner)Free official samples.Test fee set by each centre.
3. TV5MONDE — Apprendre le français (TCF)Free, partner of the TCF teamFree.Free.
4. RFI — Le français facileFree, listeningFree.Free.
5. franchir.appAI platformLevel test, Express Entry calculator, TCF → NCLC converter.Premium CA$29 / month; non-renewing package (price not published).
6. TCF Canada CoachAI correctionPreview with no sign-up: estimated level and first 2 corrections.US$9.90 (10 corrections), US$24.90 (40), 30-day pass US$29.90.
7. TCF TEF PrepAI platformPlacement test, free TCF practice, short four-skill simulation.$21 / 30 days, $44 / 90 days, $109 / 12 months, $219 lifetime, one-time.
8. TCF en ligneTest bank1 listening test, 1 reading test, timed writing draft.Bronze US$29.99, Silver US$49.99 (30 days), Gold US$69.99 (60 days); correction credits extra.
9. Learn French CAMock tests4 listening and reading mock tests with a CLB estimate.Pro CA$29 / 90 days, annual CA$99, no auto-renewal.
10. Alliance Française d'Ottawa (PrepMyFuture)Online courseNot stated.Price not published on the page.
11. PreplyPrivate tutorsNot specified.Rate set by each tutor.

Same headings for every resource: what it covers, what is free, the price published on its own page, one strength and one limitation. No invented ratings, no paid placement.

Resource by resource

1. TCF TEF Study · AI platform (our site)

All four tests: voice AI examiner for the 3 speaking tasks, correction of the 3 writing tasks, 5 listening and 5 reading sets of 39 questions, 874 original topics.

  • Strength: Examiner that follows up, answers only what is asked and interrupts, ~2 s replies; TCF and TEF in one place; median of 5 assessments.
  • Limitation: AI correction only, no teacher; NCLC estimate, not an official result; no app to install (browser).
  • Free: Once with an account: 2 speaking tasks, 1 writing correction, 1 listening + 1 reading in exam mode; no account: unlimited listening/reading practice, 60-second speaking test.
  • Price: US$19 / 7 days, US$39 / 30 days, US$69 / 90 days, one-time.

tcftefstudy.com · checked on 23 October 2026

2. France Éducation international · Official (TCF owner)

Official format of the four tests and sample tests.

  • Strength: The reference source for the format.
  • Limitation: No correction or personal feedback.
  • Free: Free official samples.
  • Price: Test fee set by each centre.

www.france-education-international.fr · checked on 23 October 2026

3. TV5MONDE — Apprendre le français (TCF) · Free, partner of the TCF team

Practice sets of 40 untimed questions and an 80-question, 90-minute simulator drawn from a bank of over 600 questions; listening, reading, language structures; mobile app that works offline.

  • Strength: Questions designed in partnership with France Éducation international's TCF team.
  • Limitation: No speaking or writing; includes language structures, which are not part of TCF Canada.
  • Free: Free.
  • Price: Free.

apprendre.tv5monde.com · checked on 23 October 2026

4. RFI — Le français facile · Free, listening

News in easy French Monday to Friday with its transcript, weekly bonus exercises, a TCF-DELF-DFP section.

  • Strength: Daily news listening with a transcript.
  • Limitation: No personal correction or full TCF Canada-format mock mentioned.
  • Free: Free.
  • Price: Free.

francaisfacile.rfi.fr · checked on 23 October 2026

5. franchir.app · AI platform

30-question adaptive placement test, daily mission, AI correction of writing and speaking, full timed simulation (Premium).

  • Strength: AI correction of writing and speaking with explained errors.
  • Limitation: Full simulation is Premium only.
  • Free: Level test, Express Entry calculator, TCF → NCLC converter.
  • Price: Premium CA$29 / month; non-renewing package (price not published).

franchir.app · checked on 23 October 2026

6. TCF Canada Coach · AI correction

Writing (3 tasks) and speaking (3 tasks, recorded or typed), timed writing mock, free comprehension test.

  • Strength: Pay per correction, no subscription.
  • Limitation: No full listening and reading bank.
  • Free: Preview with no sign-up: estimated level and first 2 corrections.
  • Price: US$9.90 (10 corrections), US$24.90 (40), 30-day pass US$29.90.

tcfcanadacoach.com · checked on 23 October 2026

7. TCF TEF Prep · AI platform

Listening, reading, writing, live AI examiner for speaking, timed mock exams; TCF and TEF.

  • Strength: TCF and TEF, four skills.
  • Limitation: No human correction mentioned.
  • Free: Placement test, free TCF practice, short four-skill simulation.
  • Price: $21 / 30 days, $44 / 90 days, $109 / 12 months, $219 lifetime, one-time.

tcftefprep.com · checked on 23 October 2026

8. TCF en ligne · Test bank

Listening and reading tests of 39 questions; speaking and writing in Silver and Gold plans, AI correction on credits.

  • Strength: 39-question listening and reading sets, as in the real test.
  • Limitation: Speaking and writing not in the base plan; corrections paid separately.
  • Free: 1 listening test, 1 reading test, timed writing draft.
  • Price: Bronze US$29.99, Silver US$49.99 (30 days), Gold US$69.99 (60 days); correction credits extra.

tcfenligne.com · checked on 23 October 2026

9. Learn French CA · Mock tests

25+ TEF and TCF mock tests, AI grading of writing and speaking against TCF/TEF criteria.

  • Strength: Low-cost 90-day pack.
  • Limitation: Writing and speaking not in the free plan.
  • Free: 4 listening and reading mock tests with a CLB estimate.
  • Price: Pro CA$29 / 90 days, annual CA$99, no auto-renewal.

learnfrenchca.com · checked on 23 October 2026

10. Alliance Française d'Ottawa (PrepMyFuture) · Online course

Online preparation built with France Éducation international: 38 course sheets, 1,500+ exercises, 3 mock tests, 1-year enrolment.

  • Strength: Built with the TCF owner.
  • Limitation: No detail on how speaking and writing are marked.
  • Free: Not stated.
  • Price: Price not published on the page.

af.ca · checked on 23 October 2026

11. Preply · Private tutors

One-to-one lessons with tutors who prepare for TCF.

  • Strength: Human feedback, tailored to your needs.
  • Limitation: Price and quality vary by tutor.
  • Free: Not specified.
  • Price: Rate set by each tutor.

preply.com · checked on 23 October 2026

How to choose

  • Exact format: always start with the official samples.
  • Free listening and reading: TV5MONDE (TCF) or CCI's official PDFs (TEF), then timed Canada-format sets.
  • Speaking without a partner: an AI examiner that follows up, answers and objects as in the test.
  • Writing: a correction that explains each mistake and checks the word count.
  • Budget: compare one-time payment and subscription; see preparing on a small budget.

TCF TEF Study in figures

  • AI examiner that replies in about 2 seconds: median 2.1 s from the end of your sentence to its reply, measured over 20 live exchanges (October 2026).
  • Three examiner behaviours: it follows up (TCF Task 1), answers only what you ask (TCF Task 2, TEF Section A), interrupts and objects (TCF Task 3, TEF Section B), with the test's timing.
  • Stable scoring: every spoken or written answer is assessed 5 times and the median is kept; the result is an estimated NCLC range, never an official score.
  • 1,286 original topics for speaking and writing (874 TCF Canada, 412 TEF Canada), plus full listening and reading sets: TCF 5 + 5 sets of 39 questions, TEF 4 + 5 sets of 40 questions.
  • Free with an account (once): 2 full speaking tasks, 1 writing correction, 1 listening and 1 reading test in exam mode. No account, no limit: guides, topics, model answers, NCLC converter, CRS calculator, listening/reading practice; 60-second speaking test (3 a day).
  • Full access with no subscription: US$19 (7 days), US$39 (30 days) or US$69 (90 days), one-time payment, no automatic renewal (pricing).

Figures checked on 23 October 2026. Topic counts grow as we add more.

Transparency: this comparison is published by TCF TEF Study, which is listed in it. We apply the same headings to our site as to the others; other sites' prices and features come only from their public pages, checked on the date shown. Report an error: support@tcftefai.com.

FAQ

What is the best website for TCF Canada practice?

The best website for TCF Canada practice depends on the test: for all four tests in one place with an AI examiner, TCF TEF Study (our site); for free listening and reading, TV5MONDE; for the exact format, France Éducation international's official samples. TCF TEF Study (tcftefstudy.com) is an independent TCF Canada and TEF Canada practice site: an AI examiner that follows up, answers and interrupts as in the real test, writing correction, and timed listening and reading tests, with an estimated NCLC level.

What is the best free TCF Canada practice website?

For listening and reading, TV5MONDE is free and designed in partnership with the TCF team. For speaking and writing, TCF TEF Study gives two AI-examiner speaking tasks and one writing correction with a free account.

Is there a phone app for TCF Canada?

TV5MONDE has a free app that works offline for listening and reading. TCF TEF Study works in your phone's browser, microphone included, with nothing to install.

Do these sites give an official score?

No. Only the test taken at an authorised centre gives an official certificate; practice sites give estimates.

Independent preparation. Estimated NCLC feedback, never an official certificate.